Shout Baby Shout

“Shout Baby Shout” is one of the most unusual CDs to have come across our desk in years. Recorded by nearly 20 different groups, it bills itself as a compilation of skiffle, bluegrass, Latin, Irish, gypsy jazz, blues, folk and ballads by Japanese artists. Sounds horrific? It’s definitely not; the CD contains remarkably gifted musicianship and is pure zany excitement that has even older echoes of American roots music, including vaudeville, minstrel, Cajun, and zydeco. You have to give credit to a lot of these artists; they’ve penetrated pre-Civil War American music and not just imitated it but seem to have embodied it.

Musicologists and purists might cry foul, but there’s no denying that this is a fun CD to listen to. Songs like “Sniper” prove that Django Reinhardt has some rather worthy disciples of his gypsy-jazz in Japan. “Pa Pa La Pa Waltz” is Old Europe meets Appalachia with sudden vocals that will leave you smiling. The whole CD in fact is likely to bring a smile to your face and make you want work… as in cut logs, deliver milk jugs, fire up the still, polish off the old saloon counter. Revisit the 19th century with this one!

“Shout Baby Shout”は異色作中の異色作。20近くもの日本のグループによるオムニバスアルバムで、スキッフル、ブルーグラス、ラテン、アイリッシュ、ジプシージャズ、ブルース、バラードのコンピレーションである。なんだか聞く気にならない?いや、これが実に素晴らしいのだ。才能あふれるミュージシャンが多数参加しており、ボードビル、ミンストレル、ケイジャン、ザディコなども含むアメリカンルーツミュージックの魅力が満載だ。南北戦争以前のルーツミュージックにまで遡って消化しているミュージシャンたちの演奏は素晴らしいというほかない。しかもそれが単なる模倣に終わらず見事に昇華させているのだ。

頭でっかちな人たちは眉をひそめるかもしれないが、聞いていて純粋に楽しめる音であることは確か。”Sniper”という曲はジプシー・スウィングの巨匠ジャンゴ・ラインハルトの音そのもの。”Pa Pa La Pa Waltz”は、いわば古き良きヨーロッパとアパラチアが融合した音で、唐突な感じのボーカルが面白い。アルバム全体が和やかな雰囲気に溢れていて、こんな音を聞いていると鋸で丸太を切ったり、牛の乳搾りをしたり、蒸留器の火を焚いたり、古いサルーン・カウンターを磨きあげたり・・・そんなノスタルジックな気分になってくる。19世紀にタイムワープだ!

The Jonny Monster Band

Did this guy teach Stevie Ray Vaughn how to play? Yes, a blasphemous thought, but that’s what we thought when we saw “Jonny Monster Band” play one night in North Carolina a year ago to a crowd of five—three of them hecklers because this trio of filthy-good Texas-style blues players is from New York. We bought their self-titled debut album right there and weren’t disappointed. It’s ten tracks of mostly electric blues like the best of it.

Some say they tire of the blues, but this CD changes pace and key enough to keep listeners interested to the end. By the fourth track, “Before the Hills,” you may want to jump out of your chair if you haven’t already–this is high energy, head bobbing music with sizzling guitar work that falls back on some standard electric blues tricks, but brings something fresh to the mix, too. Jonny may be the centerpiece, but gets great support from his bass and drums. Rumor is he only started playing blues a few years ago. How does anyone get so good, so quickly? Didn’t Robert Johnson sell his soul to the devil?


正統派のブルースには飽き飽きしているという声も良く聞くが、このアルバムに収録されている曲はテンポやキーがバラエティに富んでいて最後まで飽きさせない。4曲目”Before the Hills”を聴く頃にはジッと座っていられないような気分になってくるだろう。熱いギタープレイはスタンダードなエレクトリックブルースを踏襲していながら、新しい何かを感じさせる。ギター/ボーカルのジョニーが中心にはなっているが、ベースとドラムの好サポートも光る。ジョニーがブルースを演奏し始めたのは数年前のことらしいが、数年でこんな音が出せるようになるとは驚きだ。偉大なブルースマン、ロバート・ジョンソンにまつわる有名な「悪魔に魂を売って引き換えにテクニックを身に付けた」という伝説を思い出す。

Share and Enjoy:     These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Propeller
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis

Comments are closed.