Taylor Martin: Engine

Asheville, NC-based musician Taylor Martin’s debut album “Engine” channels some of the most accomplished folk and folk-rock artists of the last fifty years, yet still remains an assertion of individual sound and style worthy of more widespread attention. Martin’s deep, throaty vocals immediately call to mind Bob Dylan and Tom Waits; the song composition, Jerry Garcia and David Grisman. Some artists chaff at comparisons but Martin seems to be consciously placing himself in these traditions, as if he were trying to revive the authenticity of 20th century acoustic roots music. Some of the songs on the album recall an even older time from Appalachia and the South.

Mandolin, banjo and steel pedal combine with Martin’s guitar on several songs, like White Buffalo, to create wonderfully woven layers of sound. On others, like ‘Pon My Door, the opening song, Martin’s uses very slight guitar reverb for a wet sound. This choice lends itself to the rather bluesy, rather than country, licks he favors when soloing. There is much tempo change from song to song, from the slow lullaby arpeggios of Music (I Can Hear) to the locomotive chug of songs like Little Darlin’. Each song is distinct from the other, creating an album with great complexity and balance.



アルバムではマンドリン、バンジョー、ペダル・スチール・ギターと彼のギターを組み合わせた演奏もあり、「White Buffalo」では驚くほど素敵に音の層が織りなされる。1曲目の「‘Pon My Door」ではマーティンが奏でるギターの音に微かなリバーブを加え、哀愁漂う音がもたらされている。カントリーというよりブルースのようであり、ソロでは即興のフレーズを挿入している。「Music (I Can Hear)」のアルペジオで奏でられるスローなララバイから「Little Darlin’」の機関車のようなチャグ音まで、曲によってテンポが大きく変わる。どの曲も他とははっきり異なっていて、それゆえにアルバムには複雑さと絶妙なバランスが作り出されているのだ。


Price: ¥2800 (includes shipping)

Songs of Just Rewards 報いの唄

The spirit of old reggae runs deep through the new collaborative album Mukui no Uta (Songs of Just Rewards) by Mitsukaze & Green Massive. Moving far from the polished studio reggae sound that bores discerning music fans, these musicians have produced a gem that sounds inspired and organic. The overall feel is of a live music session in someone’s basement, with members bringing additional flavors of other music to the mix: hip-hop, surf rock, folk ballad and even Zydeco. At its heart, though, is that traditional reggae skank.

The album is a mere seven songs, four of them in the four-minute range. The title track is six minutes of soulful, straightforward reggae with wonderful drum textures and echoing guitar effects. “Sakura” follows with a more upbeat tempo and cheerful major key. “Summer Time” delights in accomplished guitar work that recalls Django Reinhardt’s hot jazz and Dick Dale’s surf sound. “Chinese Lantern Plant” is folksy and wistful, with accordion and trumpet lending it a nostalgic air.

Vocalist/lyricist Hamada Mitsukaze is a vocalist in the band Cool Wise Men—a cool, wise man indeed to join with Green Massive again for this second album with a DVD included.

「報いの唄」は、光風とGreen Massiveのコラボによるニューアルバム。古いレゲエのスピリットが深く流れている。耳の肥えた音楽ファンが退屈するような洗練され過ぎたレゲエとはほど遠く、彼らは刺激的でオーガニックな珠玉の音を作り上げてきた。全体のイメージはどこかの地下室で演奏されたライブセッションのようで、ミックスをベースに、メンバーがもたらしたヒップホップ、サーフロック、フォークバラード、ザイデコなどあらゆる音楽がスパイスとなっている。とはいえその本質は、伝統的なレゲエ・スカなのだろう。

アルバムは7曲から成り、うち4曲は4分程度の曲。タイトル曲は6分ほどで、素晴らしいドラムのリズムとギターエフェクトのエコーにより、魂のこもった率直なレゲエに仕上がっている。続く「櫻」は気持ち良いメジャーのキーで作られたアップビートの曲。「Summer Time」はジャンゴ・ラインハルトのホットジャズやディック・デイルのサーフ・サウンドを思わせ、ハイレベルなギターを大いに楽しめる。アコーディオンとトランペットによるフォーク調の哀愁を帯びた「鬼灯」は、ノスタルジックな雰囲気を醸し出している。

本作のボーカル/作詞を担当するのはCool Wise Menの浜田光風。いかにもcoolでwiseな彼が再びGreen Massiveと取り組んだのが、このDVD付きのセカンドアルバムだ。


Share and Enjoy:     These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Propeller
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis

Comments are closed.