YAOAO’s Rail to the New Morning is a stunning recording of original songs primarily in the tradition of American folk and bluegrass. Although the duo released it in 2008, few seem aware of its existence, much less its brilliance; even fans may want to revisit the album as acoustic roots music finds firmer footing in Japan.

Featuring Ao, the lead guitarist from Dachambo, as well as Yao, one of the jam band’s drummers, this side project gets additional support from two other talented musicians: “Eiji,” also from Dachambo, on bass, and “Ryuji,” from Yole Yole, on banjo and mandolin. The result is an acoustic album with great verve and song-writing excellence.

While Ao is known for his blistering speed on electric guitar, his chord work on this album shows him in a refreshing new context. His vocals, meanwhile, reveal a range and soulfulness that is often lost when competing with Dachambo’s big, complex sound. For variety, the album includes a reggae-like tune and hints of other genres on some songs but remains an accomplishment of genuine folk.

YAOAOのRAIL TO THE NEW MORNINGは、アメリカン・フォークとブルーグラスの伝統を受け継いだ美しいオリジナル・アルバムだ。このデュオが2008年にリリースしたアルバムだが、存在に気づいた人はごくわずか、ましてそこに輝きを見出した人などほとんどいなかった。アコースティック・ルーツ・ミュージックが日本にしっかりと根付いてきたいま、ファンはこのアルバムを再評価すべきであろう。

DachamboのリードギタリストであるAo、同バンドのドラマー・Yaoをフィーチャーしたこのサイド・プロジェクトには、さらに二人の才能あるミュージシャンが参加している。ベースに同じくDachamboのEiji、バンジョーとマンドリンを担当するのはYole YoleのRyujiだ。結果、素晴らしい力強さと曲作りのエクセレンスにあふれるアコースティック・アルバムが出来上がった。


Leo Kottke

Legendary acoustic guitarist Leo Kottke’s second album, 6 & 12-String Guitar, released just months after his debut album in 1969, remains his most popular and enduring album, though younger music fans may be more familiar with the two CDs he released with Phish bassist Mike Gordon, Clone and Sixty Six Steps. His sophomore release showcases all the sounds and techniques that would come to define his career. His complex, explosive finger picking and polyphonic melodies (think two melodies going at once) earned him deep respect from critics and artists alike. On “Watermelon” he shows himself to be a master of the slide, revealing his early interest in delta blues. He then immediately follows with “Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring” by Bach. The polyphonic melodies and clean notes no doubt derive from his classical studies. Other apparent influences include folk, bluegrass and rock. As the title alludes, listeners are treated to instrumental compositions on both guitars. And while his playing is fast, he distinguishes himself from the blazing fast electric guitarists of that period with songs that are not trying to cram as many notes as possible into them; rather, he creates soothing textures with great soul and expressiveness.

伝説のアコースティック・ギタリスト、レオ・コッケのセカンドアルバム「6 and 12 string Guitar」は、1969年にデビューアルバムがリリースされた後、わずか数ヶ月で出来上がった。このアルバムは彼の最も人気がある不朽の名作であり続けているが、若い音楽ファンには、フィッシュのベーシスト、マイク・ゴードンとコラボレーションした2枚のアルバム「クローン」と「Sixty Six Steps」の方が馴染み深いかもしれない。セカンドアルバムには、彼のキャリアを位置付けることとなるあらゆるサウンドやテクニックの片鱗が表れている。複雑で爆発的なフィンガー・ピッキングとポリフォニック・メロディー(2つの旋律が同時に演奏される様子を想像してみて)により、音楽評論家やミュージシャンたちから深い尊敬を得ている。「Watermelon」では素晴らしいスライドのマスターぶりを披露し、早い時期からデルタ・ブルースへ関心を寄せていたことを窺わせる。続いてバッハの「Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring」(主よ、人の望みの喜びよ)。ポリフォニック・メロディーと一つ一つの音がはっきりした演奏は、彼のクラシック音楽研究から引き出されているに違いない。同様にフォーク、ブルーグラス、ロックからの影響も明らかだ。タイトルが示唆する通り、6弦と12弦のギター両方で奏でられる曲を楽しめる。彼は速弾きをこなせるが、詰め込めるだけ音符を詰め込むような曲は扱わないという点で、その当時に高速奏法を誇ったエレキ・ギタリストと彼の違いは際立っている。偉大な魂と表現力によって、心地良く耳にやさしい音楽をつくっている。

Share and Enjoy:     These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Facebook
  • MySpace
  • Propeller
  • Technorati
  • TwitThis

Comments are closed.